The MPI-CBG Board of directors is currently composed of five scientific directors along with the Chief of Science Strategy (CSS) and the Chief Operating Officer (COO). They operate as a Kollegium making decisions through consensus and managing their resources as a group. The MPI-CBG Directors prefer a more resource-efficient model and to foster scientific innovation through independent Research Groups. They themselves are each a Research Group Leader sharing centralized services and facilities with non-Director Research Group Leaders. This governance structure is unique within the Max Planck Society and named the “Dresden Model”.

Each scientific director assumes the responsibility of Managing Director for a rotating term of two years. The Managing Director together with the COO, oversee the administration and support staff. The COO oversees the daily operations of the institute, including heading the administration, while the Managing Director is responsible for overseeing the entire Institute and its reporting structure. The Chief of Scientific Strategy provides mentorship and scientific guidance to members of the institute and heads the technical and scientific services.
The Directors meet monthly to discuss and decide on activities of the Institute and they have a weekly lunch providing a more informal setting for discussions.

Anne Grapin-Botton

Anne Grapin-Botton was born on July 1, 1967 in La Rochelle, France. She studied biology at the UPMC University Pierre and Marie Curie and Ecole Normale Supérieure and received her PhD in Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology in 1995. She carried out postdoctoral work in Harvard University (Cambridge, USA) where she developed interest in endoderm and pancreas development. In 2001, she started her lab on Pancreas Development and Cancer at the ISREC (Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research) and then EPFL (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland). In 2012, she became professor of Developmental Biology at the Danish Stem Cell Center of the University of Copenhagen. In August 2018, Anne Grapin-Botton joined the team of Directors at the MPI-CBG and researches self-organization of cells into organ communities. Anne Grapin-Botton is the recipient of several awards and grants including, a Human Frontiers Science Program (HFSP) Long Term Fellowship.

Stephan Grill

Stephan Grill was born on May 5, 1974 in Heidelberg and studied physics at the University of Heidelberg. He received his PhD from the European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg and the University of Munich. He did his postdoctoral work first at MPI-CBG from 2002- 2003, and then at the University of Berkeley in California, USA. Stephan Grill returned to Dresden in 2006, where he worked jointly at MPI-CBG and the Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems in Dresden as a junior research group leader. Since 2013 he is Professor of Biophysics at the Biotechnology Center of the TU Dresden. He is also the speaker of the new Cluster of Excellence “Physics of Life” at the TU Dresden and became a director at the MPI-CBG in September 2018. He has received a number of awards including the 2011 Paul Ehrlich- und Ludwig Darmstaedter-Nachwuchspreis and the 2015 Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics.

Meritxell Huch

Meritxell Huch was born on January 15, 1978 in Barcelona, Spain and studied Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Barcelona. She obtained her PhD on Biomedicine at the Center for Genomic Regulation in Barcelona in 2007. Then, she moved to the Netherlands for her postdoc to study Adult Tissue-resident Stem Cells. There, she developed the first stomach, liver and pancreas organoids from adult tissues. In February 2014 Meritxell Huch started her own lab as a junior group leader at the Gurdon Institute at the University of Cambridge and in 2019, was awarded the first Lise Meitner excellence program award from the Max Planck Society and moved her lab to the MPI-CBG. She was appointed director at the MPI-CBG in May 2022. Her group develops organoid models to investigate the collective characteristics of multicellular mammalian tissues during homeostasis and regeneration and how diseases emerge from changes in the cellular properties and behaviors. For her pioneering work on developing organoid models, she has received several awards, including the Hamdan Award for Medical excellence, the Women in Cell Science Prize from the British Society, the EMBO Young Investigator Award, and the BINDER Prize.

Anthony A. Hyman

Anthony A. Hyman was born on May 27, 1962 in Haifa (Israel). Hyman was educated at the University College London and at King's College, Cambridge, where he was awarded a PhD in 1987. He did a postdoc at the University of California/San Francisco in 1988 and became group head at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg in 1993.
In 1998, Tony Hyman became one of the four Founding Directors of the MPI-CBG. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2007 and was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize in 2011. In 2017, Tony Hyman received the Schleiden medal from the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Contact the managing director:

Marino Zerial

Marino Zerial was born on August 8, 1958 in Triest (Italy). He studied biochemistry at the University of Triest and was awarded a PhD there in 1982. He did postdoctoral work in groups at the Institute J. Monod, Paris, and at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) Heidelberg, where he joined the Cell Biology Program as research group leader in 1991. Marino Zerial is one of the Founding Directors of the MPI-CBG, building up the Institute from 1998 on. He was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize in 2008 and has been honoured with the membership of the Istituto Veneto di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti in 2019.

Ivan C. Baines

Chief of Science Strategy (former COO)
Ivan C. Baines is the Chief of Scientific Strategy and a Board Member of the MPI-CBG, where he provides mentorship and scientific guidance to members of the institute and heads the technical and scientific services, and is responsible for technology transfer and commercialization. He was formerly with the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the United States working in three main areas: managing a large portfolio of research areas with regard to scientific review and administration for the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), serving on its Technical Evaluation Board focused on out-licensing and cooperative R&D agreements, and the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) program during the course of which he advised the structuring of over 100 new start-ups in the life sciences sector. He was a co-founder of Biopolis Consultants in Dresden and has advised the public sector on establishing regional bioclusters. He has served on numerous biotech boards and has been published extensively in leading scientific journals. Ivan C. Baines received his PhD in cell biology and biochemistry from the University of London in 1988.

Suresh Kumar

Chief Operating Officer & Head of Administration
The Chief operating officer oversees the daily operations of the institute, including heading the administration.