Alumni Groups

Research Group Leaders do not get permanent positions. We believe that balancing a constant turnover of new people bringing fresh ideas on the one hand and a good career mentoring, fair support, and appropriate employment conditions on the other hand is essential in order to be a successful research institution today. Since the foundation of the Institute, 16 out of the 17 Research Group Leader Alumni have obtained prominent positions in academia around the world.

Matthias Bochtler

Head, Joint MPG-PAN Junior Research Group 2001–2010

International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw, Professor of Biological Sciences

Michael Brand

Group Leader 1999–2006

Biotechnology Center, TU-Dresden


Frank Buchholz

Group Leader 2001–2010

Professor for Medical Systems Biology, Technische Universität Dresden

Functional Genomics in mammalian cells: Applications to cancer- and stem cell-biology

© TUD/Kirsten Lassig

Christian Dahmann

Group Leader 2001–2012

Heisenberg Scholarship, Dresden University of Technology, Institute of Genetics

Stefan Diez

Group Leader 2004–2015

B CUBE, TU Dresden, Heisenberg Professorship for BioNanoTools

Christian Eckmann

Group Leader 2004–2014

Martin Luther University

Marcos Gonzalez Gaitan

Group Leader 2000–2006

University of Geneva

Stephan Grill

Group Leader 2006–2013

Professor for Biophysics, Technische Universität Dresden

Carl-Philipp Heisenberg

Group Leader 2000–2010

Institute of Science and Technology Vienna

Joe Howard

Group Leader and Director 2001–2014

Eugene Higgins Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and Professor of Physics, Yale University

Jan Huisken

Group Leader 2010–2017

Director of Morgridge Medical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering at University of Wisconsin, Madison

Eckhard Lammert

Group Leader 2002–2008

University of Dusseldorf

Daniel Mueller

Group Leader 2001–2006

ETH Zürich

Karla Neugebauer

Group Leader 2001–2014

Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University

Andy Oates

Group Leader 2003–2013

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland

Ewa Paluch

Group Leader 2006–2013

Professor of Cell Biophysics, MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, University College London, UK

Kai Simons

Group Leader and Director 1998–2012

CEO of Lipotype GmbH, a spin-off company from MPI-CBG

Iva Tolic

Group Leader 2005–2014

Ruđer Bošković Institute, Croatia


Elly Tanaka

Group Leader 1999–2007

Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP)

Christoph Thiele

Group Leader 2000–2009

University of Bonn

Christiane Walch-Solimena

Group Leader 2001–2007

Max Planck Society Administration

Wolfgang Zachariae

Group Leader 1999–2010

MPI of Biochemistry in Martinsried