Otto Hahn Medal to Fernando Carrillo Oesterreich and Mirjam Mayer

Award recognizes outstanding scientific achievements

Fernando Carrillo Oesterreich and Mirjam Mayer of the MPI-CBG were awarded the Otto Hahn Medal for young researchers in the Max Planck Society.

Mirjam, who did her PhD in Stephan Grill's lab, received the award for her work on the biophysical principles of cell polarization. Fernando (who did his PhD in the Neugebauer group) was awarded the medal for his work on RNA splicing and transcription. 

The award will be presented during the general meeting of the Max Planck Society in Düsseldorf 12-14 June 2012.

Congratulations from all of us and all the best for Mirjam's and Fernando's future!

Since 1978, the Max Planck Society has honored up to 40 young scientists and researches each year with the Otto Hahn Medal for outstanding scientific achievements. The award comes with a monetary sum in recognition. The prize is intended to motivate especially gifted junior scientists and researchers to pursue a future university or research career.